Petals & Roots

Because I let you smell my flowers,I let you touch them,tear away at every bud.
You fell in love with them,and that’s my fault,I never dared to show you my roots… Fear told me you would never understand them. So I hid behind my flowers,till one day,autumn came.
There were no more colours to be seen,no more sweet smells to smell,no more petals to caress.
All I had left were my roots;deep,dark and mangled. I gave them to you,but you didn’t know what to do with them, and so you left them to die out in the darkness.
My flowers were gone,and then you vanished too, you’d stolen my sweet smelling essence and my all my petals too.

image

Leave a Reply

